Active H2 Ultra Molecular Hydrogen Tablets Review (2026)

Evidence: Figures on this page are manufacturer-reported or third-party-published, and each one names its source. We publish no measurements of our own. See how we evaluate.

Affiliate disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, Hydrogen Water Safety earns from qualifying purchases. Editorial verdicts are not affected by affiliate relationships.

Not medical advice. Hydrogen tablets are dietary supplements, not medicines. Consult a qualified healthcare provider for any health concern, and before adding a daily magnesium supplement.

Active H2 Ultra Molecular Hydrogen Tablets

Active H2 Ultra Molecular Hydrogen Tablets

A magnesium effervescent tablet from Purative, sold through Water & Wellness and on Amazon, that states its magnesium content — 80 mg per tablet — and its hydrogen claim — up to 10 ppm in 6–12 oz of water — on the same label. That combination is rarer than it should be in this category, and it lets a buyer check the arithmetic instead of taking it on trust. The arithmetic checks out. What the label cannot promise is how much of that hydrogen is still in the glass when you drink it.

Best for: someone who wants a tablet whose label publishes both the magnesium and the hydrogen figure, carries a third-party certification, and dissolves in a normal glass without a special bottle.

Pricing varies; check current price on Amazon for accurate figures.

Active H2 Ultra Pros and Cons

✓ Pros

  • Magnesium per tablet is stated on the label: 80 mg. Most competitors omit it
  • The stated magnesium is more than enough to generate the claimed 10 ppm — the chemistry supports the number
  • Directions are specific and physically correct: dissolve fully, drink immediately
  • Certified to IHSA standards, per the manufacturer and its resellers
  • Works in any glass — no device, no charging, no membrane to maintain
  • 60-day money-back guarantee from the maker’s own store, per Water & Wellness

✗ Cons

  • 10 ppm is a generation figure, not a drinking figure; an open glass holds about 1.6 mg/L
  • Marketing language (“super-saturate”, “high-dose”, “the world’s smallest antioxidant”) outruns the human evidence
  • The water-volume range differs between the maker’s own pages: 6–12 oz on one, 10–12 oz on another
  • 80 mg of magnesium a day is meaningful for anyone already supplementing or managing kidney function
  • An unrelated product called “H2 Ultra” ranks alongside it and makes different claims — easy to confuse
  • Tier E limitation: Hydrogen Water Safety has not measured this tablet’s output

Active H2 Ultra Specifications: What the Label States

Every row is taken from Purative’s own product pages at Water & Wellness or from the Amazon listing. Where the sources disagree with each other, both figures are shown.

SpecManufacturer statement (September 2026)
Magnesium per tablet80 mg, described as ionic magnesium
Hydrogen claim“Up to 10 ppm” using one tablet in 6–12 oz of water
DirectionsOne tablet in 10–12 oz of water (product page) or 6–12 oz (store page); allow to dissolve completely; drink immediately
Tablets per bottle60
Ingredients (Amazon listing)Magnesium, malic acid, dextrose, tartaric acid, adipic acid, sodium stearyl fumarate
FlavourUnflavoured; a raspberry “Ultra+” variant is sold separately
CertificationIHSA standards, per the manufacturer and resellers
Guarantee60-day money-back, per Water & Wellness
MakerPurative; sold through Water & Wellness and on Amazon
PriceCheck current price on Amazon

The first two rows are the whole review. A hydrogen tablet is a magnesium tablet; the hydrogen is what the magnesium makes when it meets water. A label that states the magnesium and the hydrogen together has given you both halves of an equation you can check. Most tablets in this category give you one half.

How Active H2 Ultra Works — and Whether 80 mg Can Make 10 PPM

Drop the tablet in water and the magnesium reacts: Mg + 2H2O → Mg(OH)2 + H2. One magnesium atom yields one hydrogen molecule. The organic acids in the tablet — malic, tartaric, adipic — keep the reaction moving by dissolving the magnesium hydroxide that would otherwise coat the metal and stop it. The fizz you see is hydrogen leaving the water faster than the water can hold it.

Because the label states 80 mg of magnesium, the maximum hydrogen the tablet can produce is fixed by arithmetic, not marketing:

StepFigure
Magnesium stated per tablet80 mg
Moles of magnesium (÷ 24.305 g/mol)3.29 mmol
Hydrogen produced at 100% conversion (× 2.016 g/mol)6.6 mg H2 per tablet, maximum
Hydrogen needed for 10 ppm in 12 oz (355 mL)3.6 mg — 53% of the tablet’s capacity
Hydrogen needed for 10 ppm in 6 oz (177 mL)1.8 mg — 27% of the tablet’s capacity
Dissolved hydrogen an open 12 oz glass can hold (≈1.6 mg/L)≈ 0.57 mg

Two conclusions, pointing in opposite directions. First, the claim is chemically honest: 80 mg of magnesium can generate 10 ppm in 12 oz with capacity to spare, so this is not a label promising more hydrogen than its own ingredient could make. Hydrogen Water Safety has found tablets where that test fails; this one passes it.

Second, “10 ppm” describes what the tablet generates in the glass, not what you swallow. Water at room temperature and normal pressure dissolves roughly 1.6 mg of hydrogen per litre. In a 12 oz glass that is about 0.57 mg. The tablet can make six times that; the excess bubbles out. The moment the fizzing stops, the concentration is already falling toward the ceiling and below it — which is exactly why the label says drink immediately. Every magnesium tablet on the market works this way, as our best hydrogen water tablets comparison explains; the difference with this one is that its label gives you the numbers to see it.

One more thing the arithmetic exposes: the maker’s pages disagree on the water volume. The store listing says 6–12 oz; the product page says 10–12 oz. In 6 oz the tablet is working far below its capacity and the water is at the ceiling almost instantly; in 12 oz you get more water at the same ceiling. Neither is wrong. But a buyer following the 6 oz figure and a buyer following the 10 oz figure are drinking different volumes of water with the same dissolved concentration, and the label should say which it means.

The Claims Audit: What the Label Says vs What the Marketing Says

Purative’s label is unusually disciplined for the category. Its marketing copy is not. The two sit on the same page and deserve to be read separately.

StatementWhere it appearsWhat it rests on
80 mg magnesium per tabletLabel, product pageCheckable; consistent with the 10 ppm claim by stoichiometry
Up to 10 ppm in 6–12 ozLabel, product pageChemically achievable as a generation figure; not a dissolved-concentration figure
Certified to IHSA standardsManufacturer and reseller pagesA third-party standard exists; the certificate itself is not reproduced on the pages Hydrogen Water Safety read
“Super-saturate water with high-dose molecular hydrogen”Marketing copySupersaturation is transient by definition; it is what the fizz is
“The world’s smallest and most mobile antioxidant”Marketing copyTrue of the molecule; says nothing about the dose reaching tissue
Supports energy, performance, recovery, cardiovascular health, cognition, longevityMarketing copyStructure/function claims under a supplement disclaimer; human trials are small, and Hydrogen Water Safety’s safety and evidence overview covers what they do and do not show
“Distinguishes it from the ‘unnatural’ use of electrolysis”Marketing copyCommercial framing; electrolysis bottles produce the same molecule

The practical reading: trust the rows a buyer can check — magnesium, volume, directions, certification — and treat the adjectives as adjectives. That is true of every product in this category; Active H2 Ultra simply gives you more checkable rows than most.

One entity warning. A search for this product also returns H2 Ultra, a different tablet from a different company whose site claims “over 12 ppm in 8–10 oz” and “the highest concentration in the industry.” It is not Active H2 Ultra and none of its figures apply here. Purative’s product is sold as “Active H2 Ultra” by Water & Wellness and under the Purative name on Amazon.

Want to see the label yourself?

The Amazon listing carries the supplement panel, the current price and the verified customer rating.

Is Active H2 Ultra Worth the Money?

Against other tablets, the case rests on disclosure. Drink HRW’s Rejuvenation tablets state their magnesium and carry the same certification; H2Tab states neither the magnesium nor a certificate a buyer can find. Active H2 Ultra sits with the former group, and it comes in a 60-tablet bottle where several rivals sell 30. Check the current per-tablet price on Amazon and on Water & Wellness — the maker’s own store carries a 60-day guarantee that Amazon does not.

Against a rechargeable bottle, the trade is consumables for convenience. A tablet costs money every day; a bottle costs money once and then needs charging, descaling and, eventually, a new membrane. A tablet also reaches the solubility ceiling in any glass, which a cheap bottle with a weak cell may not. If you want to try hydrogen water before committing to a device, a 60-tablet bottle is the low-commitment way to do it.

Against doing nothing: the human evidence for hydrogen water is small and preliminary. Buy this for what it demonstrably does — deliver a checkable dose of hydrogen into a glass, plus 80 mg of magnesium — not for the longevity language on the box.

Is Active H2 Ultra Safe?

The hydrogen is not the variable. At the concentrations any tablet reaches, dissolved hydrogen has not been associated with toxicity in the published safety literature. The variable is the magnesium.

Magnesium load. One tablet is 80 mg — about 23% of the 350 mg per day upper intake level that established guidance sets for supplemental magnesium in adults. Two tablets is 46%. That is before any multivitamin, antacid, magnesium supplement or fortified drink you already take. Follow the label’s one-a-day default; if you go higher, add up your total.

Kidneys. Magnesium is cleared renally. Anyone with kidney disease, reduced kidney function or a history of kidney stones should not add a daily magnesium supplement without asking their clinician first — this is the population the ceiling exists for.

Digestive effects. Magnesium salts are the classic cause of loose stools at higher intakes; the organic acids in the tablet are mild but not nothing. Start with one tablet a day and drink it with the full volume of water the label specifies, not less.

Who should ask first. Anyone pregnant or nursing, anyone on medication whose dose must be kept within a tight range, and anyone already managing a mineral or electrolyte condition. See is hydrogen water safe for the research background and side effects and dangers for the reported effects across the category.

How to Use Active H2 Ultra for the Most Hydrogen

  1. Use the volume the product page states — 10–12 oz — in a narrow glass rather than a wide one; less surface area means slower escape.
  2. Room-temperature water. Cold water dissolves slightly more hydrogen but slows the reaction; the difference is small either way.
  3. Let it dissolve completely, as the label says. Stirring or shaking drives hydrogen out; leave it alone.
  4. Drink as soon as the fizzing stops. The concentration is at its peak then and only falls afterwards. Our guide on how long hydrogen water lasts explains the curve.
  5. Do not drop it into a sealed bottle and cap it. The reaction produces gas; pressure builds. If you want retained hydrogen, that is what pressure-rated bottles are for.

Active H2 Ultra vs Drink HRW vs H2Tab

Three magnesium tablets, three levels of disclosure. Every figure is the maker’s own, as set out in our Drink HRW Rejuvenation review and H2Tab review.

CriterionActive H2 UltraDrink HRW RejuvenationH2Tab
Magnesium per tablet statedYes — 80 mgYes — 80 mgNot stated on the web listing
Hydrogen claimUp to 10 ppm in 6–12 oz12.4 ppm12 ppm in 12–16 oz
Does stated magnesium support the claim?Yes, with capacity to spareYes, at the limitCannot be checked — magnesium not stated
Third-party certification namedIHSA, per makerIHSA, per maker“Third-party tested”; body not named
Tablets per pack606030
DirectionsDissolve fully, drink immediatelyDissolve fully, drink immediatelyDrink immediately, finish within 20 min
Price tierMidMidMid

Between the first two the differences are small and the choice can rest on flavour, availability and price on the day. Both publish what a buyer needs. The third is the outlier: a claim without the number that would let you test it. If disclosure is your buying criterion — and on a supplement whose only active ingredient is a mineral with a daily ceiling, it should be — the first two columns are where to shop.

Who Should Buy Active H2 Ultra (and Who Shouldn’t)

A reasonable fit if

  • You want a tablet whose label you can actually check — magnesium and hydrogen figures both stated, certification named.
  • You would rather buy consumables than own, charge and descale a bottle.
  • You want to try hydrogen water at low commitment before deciding whether a device is worth it.
  • You are not already near the daily magnesium ceiling from other sources.

Look elsewhere if

  • You have kidney disease, a history of kidney stones, or already take a magnesium supplement — talk to a clinician before adding 80 mg a day.
  • You want hydrogen that stays in the water for hours — no tablet does that in an open glass; you need a pressure-rated bottle.
  • You are buying for the longevity or performance language — the human evidence does not carry that weight yet.
  • You drink several servings a day — daily magnesium from tablets alone climbs quickly toward the ceiling.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much magnesium is in Active H2 Ultra?

The manufacturer states 80 mg of ionic magnesium per tablet. That is about 23% of the 350 mg per day upper intake level for supplemental magnesium in adults, before any other supplement or fortified food is counted. It is also enough, by stoichiometry, to generate the advertised 10 ppm of hydrogen with capacity to spare.

Does Active H2 Ultra really make 10 ppm hydrogen water?

It can generate that much: 80 mg of magnesium yields up to 6.6 mg of hydrogen, and 10 ppm in 12 oz needs only 3.6 mg. But an open glass at room temperature holds about 1.6 mg/L dissolved, so 10 ppm describes what the tablet produces, not the concentration you drink. That is why the label says drink immediately.

Is Active H2 Ultra the same as “H2 Ultra”?

No. H2 Ultra is a different tablet from a different company with different claims. Active H2 Ultra is made by Purative and sold through Water & Wellness and on Amazon under the Purative name. Check the maker’s name before comparing figures.

How many Active H2 Ultra tablets can you take a day?

The label’s default is one tablet in 10–12 oz of water. Each tablet adds 80 mg of magnesium, so two tablets is 160 mg and three is 240 mg — approaching the 350 mg daily supplemental ceiling once other sources are counted. Anyone with reduced kidney function should ask a clinician before exceeding one.

Is Active H2 Ultra IHSA certified?

The manufacturer and its resellers state the product is certified according to IHSA standards. Hydrogen Water Safety did not locate the certificate document itself on the pages it read; the claim is the maker’s. IHSA is a third-party standards body for hydrogen products, and a named body is more than many competitors offer.

Active H2 Ultra or Drink HRW — which is better?

They are close. Both state 80 mg of magnesium per tablet, both name IHSA certification, both come in 60-tablet packs and both give the same directions. Drink HRW claims a slightly higher figure (12.4 ppm vs up to 10). In an open glass both hit the same solubility ceiling, so the difference is on paper. Choose on price and availability.

Should you use Active H2 Ultra in a sealed bottle to keep the hydrogen?

No. The reaction produces gas, and a sealed container builds pressure. Dissolve it in an open glass as the label directs and drink promptly. If retention matters to you, that is what purpose-built pressure-rated hydrogen bottles are designed for.

Final Verdict: Is Active H2 Ultra Worth Buying?

Active H2 Ultra is one of the few hydrogen tablets whose label lets you check its own claim, and the claim survives the check: 80 mg of magnesium can make the 10 ppm it advertises. Add a named certification, specific and physically correct directions, and a 60-tablet count, and it belongs in the small group of tablets that publish what they should.

What it cannot do is beat physics. In an open glass you drink roughly 1.6 mg/L no matter what the tablet generates, and the longevity language on the box rests on human evidence that is still small. Buy it for a checkable dose of hydrogen and 80 mg of magnesium, drink it when the fizz stops, and count the magnesium against everything else you take.

This is a Tier E evaluation. Hydrogen Water Safety has not lab-tested Active H2 Ultra and publishes no hydrogen measurements of its own. All figures are the manufacturer’s or published constants, attributed above.

See Active H2 Ultra on Amazon

Supplement panel, current price and verified rating on the listing. As an Amazon Associate, Hydrogen Water Safety earns from qualifying purchases.

Part of Hydrogen Water Safety’s tablet coverage. For the category compared on published figures, see best hydrogen water tablets; for the closest rival, the Drink HRW Rejuvenation review; for the tablet that does not publish its magnesium, the H2Tab review; and for the physics behind every ppm figure, how long hydrogen water lasts.

About the author
Hydrogen Water Safety Editorial
Hydrogen Water Safety is an independent review and research site focused on hydrogen water devices, safety, and the underlying science. Our reviews draw on manufacturer documentation, peer-reviewed research, and verified-buyer reports. We publish no measurements of our own. No sponsored content.
Last verified September 6, 2026. Spot an error or outdated claim? Email editorial.

Last update on 2026-09-08 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

This product presentation was made with AAWP plugin.