Affiliate disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, Hydrogen Water Safety earns from qualifying purchases. Editorial verdicts are not affected by affiliate relationships.
Not medical advice. Hydrogen tablets are dietary supplements, not medicines. Consult a qualified healthcare provider for any health concern, and before adding a daily magnesium supplement.
Dr. Mercola H2 Molecular Hydrogen Tablets
A magnesium effervescent tablet sold under the Mercola brand whose Supplement Facts panel does something no other hydrogen tablet Hydrogen Water Safety has reviewed does: it states the magnesium (80 mg), the hydrogen figure (8 ppm), the exact water volume (16 oz / 480 mL) and the moment the figure was measured (“immediately after tablet dissolves”). The number is the most conservative in its class, and the chemistry supports it with room to spare. What the label cannot change is the solubility ceiling every open glass shares.
Best for: a buyer who wants a hydrogen tablet whose label can be checked line by line, with a specified water volume and no claim it cannot support.
Pricing varies; check current price on Amazon for accurate figures.
Dr. Mercola H2 Pros and Cons
✓ Pros
- ✓Magnesium stated on the Supplement Facts panel: 80 mg, 19% of the Daily Value
- ✓Hydrogen claim states the water volume and the measurement moment — the only tablet reviewed here that does
- ✓8 ppm is the most conservative claim in the category and needs only 58% of the tablet’s hydrogen capacity
- ✓Directions are specific and correct: 16 oz, drink immediately, do not swallow the tablet
- ✓Simple ingredient list: magnesium plus four food acids; GMO-, gluten- and soy-free per label
- ✓Three pack sizes — 30, 90, and a 60-tablet “H2-2-Go” travel version
✗ Cons
- ✗8 ppm is a generation figure; an open 16 oz glass holds about 0.8 mg dissolved at room temperature
- ✗No third-party certification body named on the label or product pages
- ✗Marketing copy (“protect your body”, “alleviate inflammation”) outruns the small human evidence base
- ✗16 oz is more water per serving than most rivals specify — a consideration, not a flaw
- ✗80 mg of magnesium a day matters for anyone already supplementing or managing kidney function
- ✗Tier E limitation: Hydrogen Water Safety has not measured this tablet’s output
Dr. Mercola H2 Specifications: What the Label States
Every row is taken from the Supplement Facts panel and directions as reproduced on the Mercola Market listing and its authorised retailers. Nothing here is Hydrogen Water Safety’s measurement.
| Spec | Label statement (September 2026) |
|---|---|
| Magnesium per tablet | 80 mg (19% Daily Value), from elemental magnesium |
| Hydrogen claim | “Generates 8 ppm of hydrogen per tablet in 16 oz (480 mL) of water measured immediately after tablet dissolves” |
| Directions | Dissolve one tablet in 16 oz (480 mL) of water and drink immediately; do not swallow the tablet directly |
| Serving size | One tablet |
| Other ingredients | Dextrose, malic acid, L-tartaric acid, adipic acid |
| Flavour | Light lemon essence, per retailer descriptions |
| Pack sizes | 30 tablets; 90 tablets; 60-tablet “H2-2-Go” travel version |
| Free-from claims | GMO-free, gluten-free, soy-free |
| Third-party certification | None named |
| Label warning | Consult a physician if pregnant, nursing, taking medication or with a medical condition |
| Price | Check current price on Amazon |
The second row is unusual and worth reading twice. Most tablets say “up to X ppm” and leave the volume vague. This one names the volume, the number, and the instant it applies — “immediately after tablet dissolves.” That last phrase is the manufacturer conceding, in its own words, what this site has been saying about every tablet: the figure is a peak, and it is already falling by the time you lift the glass.
How Dr. Mercola H2 Works — and Whether 80 mg Can Make 8 PPM
Every magnesium tablet runs the same reaction: Mg + 2H2O → Mg(OH)2 + H2. One magnesium atom, one hydrogen molecule. The four food acids on the label — malic, tartaric, adipic, with dextrose as the binder — dissolve the magnesium hydroxide that would otherwise coat the metal and stall the reaction. The fizz is hydrogen leaving the water faster than the water can dissolve it.
Because the label states the magnesium and the volume, the check is arithmetic:
| Step | Figure |
|---|---|
| Magnesium stated per tablet | 80 mg |
| Moles of magnesium (÷ 24.305 g/mol) | 3.29 mmol |
| Hydrogen produced at 100% conversion (× 2.016 g/mol) | 6.6 mg H2 per tablet, maximum |
| Hydrogen needed for 8 ppm in 16 oz (480 mL) | 3.8 mg — 58% of the tablet’s capacity |
| Dissolved hydrogen an open 16 oz glass can hold (≈1.6 mg/L) | ≈ 0.8 mg |
The claim passes, comfortably. The tablet would need to convert only 58% of its magnesium to reach 8 ppm in the stated glass — a realistic figure for an effervescent tablet, not a best case. Of the labelled tablets Hydrogen Water Safety has checked this way, it is the claim with the most margin behind it.
Then the same ceiling applies to it as to every other tablet. Water at room temperature and normal pressure dissolves roughly 1.6 mg of hydrogen per litre; a 16 oz glass therefore holds about 0.8 mg. The tablet generates up to eight times that. The label’s own phrase — “measured immediately after tablet dissolves” — is the honest description of a peak. The moment the fizz stops, the concentration is falling toward and below the ceiling. Drink it then. Our guide to how long hydrogen water lasts shows the curve.
Why 16 oz? A larger glass lowers the peak concentration but gives the same dissolved hydrogen per glass once the ceiling applies, and it dilutes the 80 mg of magnesium and the acids into more water, which is gentler on the stomach. It also means the “8 ppm” figure is lower than rivals not because the tablet makes less hydrogen — it makes the same 6.6 mg maximum as any 80 mg tablet — but because the label divides it by more water. A rival’s “12 ppm in 12 oz” and this label’s “8 ppm in 16 oz” describe almost the same amount of gas.
Four Tablets, One Chemistry: Why the PPM Numbers Differ
Three of the four most-searched hydrogen tablets state 80 mg of magnesium. Their hydrogen claims range from 8 to 12.4 ppm. The chemistry cannot differ — 80 mg of magnesium yields at most 6.6 mg of hydrogen regardless of the brand — so the spread comes from two things only: how much water the label assumes, and how close to 100% conversion the maker is willing to claim. Every figure below is the maker’s own, as set out in our Drink HRW review, Active H2 Ultra review and H2Tab review.
| Tablet | Magnesium stated | Hydrogen claim | Water volume stated | H2 the claim requires | Share of 80 mg capacity | Certification named |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dr. Mercola H2 | 80 mg | 8 ppm, “measured immediately after tablet dissolves” | 16 oz / 480 mL | 3.8 mg | 58% | None |
| Active H2 Ultra | 80 mg | Up to 10 ppm | 6–12 oz (pages disagree) | 1.8–3.6 mg | 27–53% | IHSA, per maker |
| Drink HRW Rejuvenation | 80 mg | 12.4 ppm | ~500 mL, per maker | 6.2 mg | ~93% | IHSA, per maker |
| H2Tab | Not stated | 12 ppm | 12–16 oz | 4.3–5.7 mg | Cannot be checked | “Third-party tested”; body not named |
Read across the “share of capacity” column and the picture is clear. Three labels, one tablet chemistry, three levels of ambition. Mercola’s 8 ppm asks the tablet to convert a little over half its magnesium. Active H2’s “up to 10” asks for up to half. Drink HRW’s 12.4 asks for nearly all of it — achievable in principle, at the edge in practice. H2Tab’s cannot be assessed because the one number the check needs is not on the page.
None of this makes one tablet produce more hydrogen than another. In an open glass they all top out at the same 1.6 mg/L. What it tells you is how each maker chose to describe the same reaction — and a label that under-promises, names its volume and dates its measurement is the one whose other statements you can most reasonably take at face value.
Want to read the panel yourself?
The Amazon listing carries the Supplement Facts image, current price and verified customer rating.
Is Dr. Mercola H2 Worth the Money?
On disclosure, it leads the field: magnesium, volume, ppm and measurement moment all on the panel. On certification, it trails — Drink HRW and Active H2 Ultra both name IHSA; this label names no body. Whether that matters depends on what you want a certificate for. A certificate is a third party confirming the label’s number; this label’s number is modest enough, and the chemistry behind it clear enough, that the missing certificate costs less confidence than it would on a 12 ppm claim.
On price per tablet, the 90-count bottle is the one to compare — check Amazon and the brand’s own store on the day; both channels carry it and prices move. The 30-count is a trial size and the 60-count H2-2-Go is a travel format at a travel premium.
Against a rechargeable bottle, the trade is the usual one: consumables versus a device to charge and descale. A tablet reaches the ceiling in any glass; a cheap bottle with a weak cell may not. For a first month of hydrogen water, a bottle of tablets is the lower-commitment route.
Is Dr. Mercola H2 Safe?
The hydrogen is not the variable; at the concentrations any tablet reaches, dissolved hydrogen has not been associated with toxicity in the published safety literature. The magnesium is.
Magnesium load. One tablet is 80 mg — 19% of the Daily Value on the label, and about 23% of the 350 mg per day upper intake level that established guidance sets for supplemental magnesium in adults. That is before any multivitamin, antacid or other supplement. The label’s serving is one tablet; keep it there unless a clinician says otherwise.
Kidneys. Magnesium is cleared renally. The label itself says to consult a physician with any medical condition; kidney disease, reduced kidney function and a history of kidney stones are the conditions that sentence is for.
“Do not swallow tablet directly.” The label says it twice, and it is not boilerplate. The tablet is designed to react in a glass of water; swallowed whole, it reacts in the stomach, producing gas and heat where you do not want either. Dissolve it fully, every time.
Who should ask first. Anyone pregnant or nursing, anyone on medication whose dose must be kept within a tight range, anyone managing a mineral or electrolyte condition — the label’s own warning, and ours. See is hydrogen water safe for the research background and side effects and dangers for the category.
How to Use Dr. Mercola H2 for the Most Hydrogen
- Use the full 16 oz the label specifies, in a tall narrow glass rather than a wide one — less surface, slower escape.
- Room-temperature water. Cold holds slightly more hydrogen but slows the reaction; the net difference is small.
- Let it dissolve completely without stirring. Agitation drives hydrogen out.
- Drink as the fizzing ends — that is the “immediately after tablet dissolves” moment the label’s figure describes.
- Never seal it in a bottle to “keep” the hydrogen. The reaction makes gas; a capped container builds pressure. Retention is what pressure-rated bottles are built for.
Who Should Buy Dr. Mercola H2 (and Who Shouldn’t)
A reasonable fit if
- You want the most completely disclosed label in the category and a claim the chemistry supports with margin.
- You prefer a larger glass of water per serving — 16 oz spreads the magnesium and acids further.
- You want a 90-day supply in one bottle, or a travel pack for the road.
- You are not already near the daily magnesium ceiling from other sources.
Look elsewhere if
- A named third-party certification is your deciding criterion — Drink HRW and Active H2 Ultra both carry one; this does not.
- You have kidney disease, a history of kidney stones, or already take magnesium — ask a clinician before adding 80 mg a day.
- You want hydrogen that stays in the water for hours — no tablet does that in an open glass.
- You are buying for the “alleviate inflammation” language — the human evidence does not carry that weight yet.
A fifth tablet completes the set: Invigorated Water’s, which carries a named certifier but states no magnesium, no concentration and no volume on its product page — the opposite end of the disclosure scale from this label. See the Invigorated Water hydrogen tablets review for the five-way comparison.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much magnesium is in Dr. Mercola H2 tablets?
The Supplement Facts panel states 80 mg of magnesium per tablet, 19% of the Daily Value, from elemental magnesium. That is about 23% of the 350 mg per day upper intake level for supplemental magnesium in adults, before any other supplement is counted — and enough, by stoichiometry, to generate the labelled 8 ppm using only 58% of the tablet.
Does Dr. Mercola H2 really make 8 ppm hydrogen water?
It can generate that: 80 mg of magnesium yields up to 6.6 mg of hydrogen, and 8 ppm in 16 oz needs 3.8 mg. But the label’s own words — “measured immediately after tablet dissolves” — tell you it is a peak. An open 16 oz glass holds about 0.8 mg dissolved at room temperature, so drink it as the fizz ends.
What is the difference between Dr. Mercola H2 and H2-2-Go?
Same formula, different pack. H2 Molecular Hydrogen comes in 30- and 90-tablet bottles; H2-2-Go is a 60-tablet travel version sold by retailers such as Target. The label figures — 80 mg magnesium, 8 ppm in 16 oz — are the same.
Why is Dr. Mercola’s ppm lower than Drink HRW’s or H2Tab’s?
Because of the water, not the tablet. All three 80 mg tablets make at most 6.6 mg of hydrogen. Mercola’s label divides that by 16 oz and claims 58% conversion; Drink HRW’s claims 12.4 ppm in about 500 mL, which needs 93% conversion. Same chemistry, different ambition. In an open glass all of them hit the same solubility ceiling.
Is Dr. Mercola H2 third-party certified?
No certification body is named on the label or the product pages Hydrogen Water Safety read. Drink HRW and Active H2 Ultra both state IHSA certification. The missing certificate matters less here than it would on a higher claim, because 8 ppm is well within what the stated magnesium can produce.
Can you swallow the tablet instead of dissolving it?
No — the label says so twice. The tablet is designed to react in a glass; swallowed whole it reacts in the stomach, releasing gas and heat there. Dissolve one tablet fully in 16 oz of water and drink immediately, as directed.
How many Dr. Mercola H2 tablets can you take a day?
The label’s serving is one tablet, and each adds 80 mg of magnesium. Two tablets is 160 mg, three is 240 mg — approaching the 350 mg daily supplemental ceiling once other sources are counted. Follow the label’s one-a-day unless a clinician advises otherwise, and ask first if your kidney function is reduced.
Final Verdict: Is Dr. Mercola H2 Worth Buying?
Judged on its label — which is how a tablet whose only active ingredient is a mineral should be judged — Dr. Mercola H2 is the most completely disclosed hydrogen tablet Hydrogen Water Safety has reviewed. It states the magnesium, the volume, the hydrogen figure and the moment that figure applies, and it claims less than the chemistry allows. That is the profile of a label written by someone who expected it to be checked.
What it does not have is a named certification, and what it cannot have is hydrogen that beats physics: in an open 16 oz glass you drink roughly 0.8 mg no matter which tablet made it. Buy it for a checkable dose of hydrogen and 80 mg of magnesium, drink it when the fizz ends, and count the magnesium against everything else you take.
This is a Tier E evaluation. Hydrogen Water Safety has not lab-tested Dr. Mercola H2 and publishes no hydrogen measurements of its own. All figures are the label’s or published constants, attributed above.
See Dr. Mercola H2 on Amazon
Supplement Facts, current price and verified rating on the listing. As an Amazon Associate, Hydrogen Water Safety earns from qualifying purchases.
Part of Hydrogen Water Safety’s tablet coverage. For the category compared on published figures, see best hydrogen water tablets; for the two certified rivals, the Drink HRW review and Active H2 Ultra review; for the tablet that does not state its magnesium, the H2Tab review.
Last update on 2026-09-08 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API
This product presentation was made with AAWP plugin.

